{musician love}

Its sometimes mind-blowing to think that such little things like the bright lights and late nights can shock part of the brain that had been a sleep for a decade.

For some reason this past Saturday night spark feelings of memories I hadn’t felt in quite a while. Back to when I was with the love of my life {well, at least that part of my life}. Back when he would write me love notes whenever we were apart, back when I’d look through his sketch book to find drawing of me asleep, back when he’d write songs about how our life would be years from now. Back when he was my everything. Back when he was worth putting my crazy life on hold. Back when my naturally fast paced slowed down to a relaxed rate. Back when the lyrics would free flow from my hand. Back when we both were better people because of each other.

Like most, the three years with my first love, came to an end. Sometimes I question if it’s the innocents I miss or just the person I was back when we were together. There are bits and pieces of who I was then that wish I had now.

Since that life learning experience, I’ve had a different view of any live performance.

When the performance starts; instead of watching and enjoying the show gabbing with friends, I started my own dog and pony show. It starts by walking the room checking the sound from each side of the venue, during the walks back and forth, you’d stop and make sure everyone is enjoying themselves and especially take the time to thank the “special” guest for coming . If you ever got a chance to actually watch the show, you’d watch it from the back usually behind the Mackie board. Being with a musician, is like being caught somewhere between being a PR manager and a roadie.

For some crazy reason, I was a perfect fit. I was self assured and didn’t mind the ladies, I could wait in the shadows for the end of the show or be paraded around all dolled up; we both knew the routine that would take place afterwards; thanking the crowd with hugs, hand shakes and photos for an hour or so.

It was a fun time in my life, back when I felt like I was LIVING! Lots of lessons learned that I wouldn’t trade but also don’t feel the need to experience again.

About Country Cosmo

Country Cosmo doesn’t that say it all! I grew up in a small town, retired from Rodeo and now am an entrepreneur who can’t let go of her country roots!
This entry was posted in Horseplay and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to {musician love}

  1. Pingback: Dual Deja’Vue | Country Cosmo's Blog

  2. Pingback: Life without Music would be Intolerable | Country Cosmo's Blog

  3. Pingback: Life without Music would be Intolerable | Country Cosmo

Leave a Reply

