Weekend = Gratefully Exhasted

This past weekend was pretty awesome!

It started by busting my butt to get out of work early Friday to spend a half day volunteering at the horse rescue. After that, I went to my regular (although not visited as much) watering hole to watch the spectacular Sammy Steele Band. This night was amazing! It may have been from having a half a drink over my one drink limit. A little tipsy for a short while, left me with a bruised knee but I kept upright and on my feet (note to self: this is why you quit whiskey 10 years ago).  Come closing time, I was quite satisfied with the night.

Saturday was fun-filled as well.  Started out working early morning on real estate but by mid-morning the sun was shining and it was time for some horse play. I got all caught up on grooming, picked up the tack room a bit and even fit in vacuuming the car. Came in for lunch and one of my favorite movie was playing, “Return to Snowy River”, so I stayed on the couch a bit longer than expected. Then rushed to make an apple crisp for the Saturday night’s birthday boy. Went from house party to playing pool at Valhalla, where I met a few new gentleman (friends of birthday boy). Although none were real prospects, it was fun to flirt (lets face it, I’m usually scared to talk to boys). Left at closing time to spend the night at my cousin.

Sunday started as usually, except that I wasn’t in my own bed; getting up too early and then having some quiet time while drinking the mocha. From there, my cousin and I got our butts in gear and started canning tomatoes. This went smoother than expected considering this was the second time I’d canned since taking the canning class.  By game time (GO SEA-HAWKS!), the tomato canning mess was complete. We made a fabulous brunch during halftime and then I made a batch of Monster cookies (recipe to follow); I just now got home and am ready for bed and its only 7pm.

I made good use of my time, every minute was fun filled. Now back to the grind tomorrow but maybe I should live it up again next weekend! There are moments in life when you need to stop and reflect on the day. This weekend I didn’t just let life happen…I lived!

About Country Cosmo

Country Cosmo doesn’t that say it all! I grew up in a small town, retired from Rodeo and now am an entrepreneur who can’t let go of her country roots!
This entry was posted in Horseplay, Overcommitted Volunteer, Ramble on... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend = Gratefully Exhasted

  1. marin says:

    yummy fantastic funfilled weekend!! We loved that you stayed over!! 😀

Leave a Reply

